Marco Island Nature Preserve – Board Members


Carl H. Way, Founder and Chairman

Carl is an entrepreneur with an engineering degree from Columbia Technical Institute. He is a life-long champion of bald eagles who leads the vision to preserve a cherished pocket of Marco Island’s natural history. Founder and former CEO of a manufacturing corporation, he also currently serves on other corporate boards and coordinates with many conservation-oriented non-profits.


Dr. Gerald Swiacki, Vice President
Jerry is a retired surgeon, originally from Michigan, who is a well-known community member and leader active in many organizations on Marco Island. He attended the University of Notre Dame and the Chicago College of Osteopathic Medicine.


 Linda Turner, Director of Community Relations and Educational Outreach

Linda devotes time to local organizations that protect nature and wildlife. She has supported the Nature Preserve since 2010 to raise public awareness and appreciation for conservation. She is retired University of Michigan alumna who holds degrees in Fine Arts and Applied Sciences.


Dan Sebold, Director
Dan is an entrepreneur, real estate developer, and LEED-certified general contractor. His technical expertise is a great asset to development of the Preserve. He has a BS in Business Administration from Central Michigan University.


Curt Witthoff, Director
Curt applies his experience as a teacher of science and
environmental education to e-learning, using digital tools,
and other technology for curriculum and instructional design.
He holds a BS in Zoology and MS in Education (Instructional Media).


Dr. Kara Lefevre, Director
Kara is an avian ecologist and professor at Florida Gulf Coast University. She loves exploring with her family, knitting outdoors, and thinks protecting green spaces is our obligation to future generations. Her MS and PhD degrees are in biology/ecology.

Ken Nat Prev

Kenneth Honecker, Director
Ken has a mechanical engineering degree from Stevens Institute of Technology. Since moving to Marco Island in 2001 he participated on numerous boards and committees. He served on the Marco Island City council from 2012-2016.